Honors Scholarships & Awards

Each year the University Honors Program recognizes staff and students for their commitment to Honors with a variety of awards and scholarships:

Every HON 121 co-leader pair is allowed to nominate one first-year Honors student within their section to apply for the Outstanding First-Year Honors Program Member scholarship given out by the University Honors Committee and the Honors Student Board. Four to six winners are chosen annually based upon their current and potential future involvement in the Honors Program, the recommendation of their former First-Year Honors seminar leaders, and their academic achievement and involvement so far at Iowa State University.

Winners receive a $250 scholarship which is credited to their tuition and fee charges for the following semester.

2018 Outstanding FHP Members

Each year the Honors Program Scholarship is awarded to an Honors member who best articulates how the Honors Program has furthered or improved their education academically or through co-curricular engagement.

2018 Outstanding UHP Payton Wise

The $500 Outstanding Honors Student Board Member Scholarship goes to a member of HSB who, through their participation, made a significant impact in the life of the Board. The recipient will not necessarily have been an elected officer, but will be someone who has been substantially involved in the Board’s activities. The student must have been active with the Board for at least two years. Other involvement in the Honors Program will also be considered.

The Outstanding HSB Member Scholarship nomination form can be accessed here (doc).

2018 Oustanding HSB Member, Gabi Mitchell

Each year the W. Robert Parks Honors Commendations are awarded to a faculty member, a friend, and a student associated with the University Honors Program. Honors students nominate individuals in each of the three categories who have demonstrated outstanding contributions to the Honors Program. The Honors Student Board (HSB) then selects the recipients.

To nominate an individual for a Parks Award, click here to download the form (doc).

2018 Parks Winners

In order to recognize Iowa State faculty and staff who support Honors at Iowa State, the Honors Program gives two annual awards of $500 for outstanding Honors teaching, advising, or mentoring. Each year’s recipients will be recognized at the University Honors Program Convocation.

The criterion for these awards is general excellence in teaching of Honors courses, seminars, or other courses taught for Honors credit; or in the mentoring of Honors students through academic advising, advising of Honors projects, and mentoring of students in the First-Year Honors/Mentor Research Program. Anyone who has taught or mentored in the Honors Program at least once is eligible to apply.

Letters nominating candidates for these awards (including self-nominations), as well as optional but desirable) supporting materials such as syllabi or student letters, may be delivered to the Honors Program Office, 2130 Jischke Honors Building, until 5 p.m. Friday, March 25. The University Honors Committee will evaluate the nominations.

Previous recipients can be viewed here.